• Indian team will play a series of 3 ODIs and 3 T20 matches in Sri Lanka
  • Left arm pacer Chetan Sakaria plays for Rajasthan Royals in IPL
  • 6 uncapped Indian players selected in squad for Sri Lanka tour

New Delhi
The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced Team India for the Sri Lanka tour. Devdutt Padikkal, Chetan Sakariya, Krishnappa Gautam and Ruturaj Gaikwad are the names in the 20-man Indian team who have made it to the senior national team for the first time.

These players have been rewarded for their better performance in the Indian Premier League (IPL) and domestic tournaments. Veteran opener Shikhar Dhawan has been named as the captain while Bhuvneshwar Kumar will take over as the vice-captain.

Team India will play 3 ODIs and 3 T20s in Sri Lanka

Indian team Sri Lanka in July (India tour of Sri Lanka) will play a series of 3 ODIs and 3 T20 matches. All matches will be played at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. Two wicketkeepers have been included in the form of Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson. Prithvi Shaw, who performed brilliantly in the first half of the Vijay Hazare Trophy and IPL 2021, has also been successful in making it to the team.

Which is the most successful team in IPL? Answer some such simple questions and win prizes

Devdutt Padikkal gets rewarded for outstanding performance in domestic and IPL
Young opener Devdutt Padikkal, who played for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in IPL, scored a total of 473 runs in 15 matches in the last edition of this T20 league.

Padikkal was the highest run-scorer for RCB. The budding left-handed batsman had scored five half-centuries in his debut season. In the last Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and Vijay Hazare Trophy also, Padikkal played brilliantly. He scored 218 runs in 6 matches of Mushtaq Ali Trophy and 737 runs in 7 matches in Vijay Hazare. In the first half of IPL 2021, Padikkal scored 195 runs in 6 matches, including an unbeaten 101 against Rajasthan Royals.

Nitish Rana was the top performer of KKR

27-year-old Nitish Rana made his IPL debut for Mumbai Indians (MI) in the year 2016. Nitish played two seasons for Mumbai. He then moved to Kolkata Knight Riders in 2018. Nitish has so far scored 1437 runs in 60 IPL matches with 11 half-centuries. Rana was KKR’s top performer in the first half of IPL 2021. He scored 201 runs in 7 matches.

Chetan Sakaria came and dominated the IPL
Pacer Chetan Sakaria (Chetan Sakaria) got a chance to debut for Rajasthan Royals in IPL. This budding bowler dominated this T20 league as soon as he arrived. 23 year old left arm pacer Chetan plays domestic cricket for Saurashtra. Sakariya took 7 wickets in the first half of IPL 2021. He gave excellent support to RR’s fellow bowlers Chris Morris, Jaydev Unadkat and Mustafizur Rahman. This bowler lost his brother during IPL. A few days after IPL 2021 was suspended, Sakariya’s father also passed away who was infected with Corona.

Ruturaj Gaikwad scored 3 consecutive fifties in IPL 2020
Opener Ruturaj Gaikwad proved his mettle by scoring consecutive half-centuries in the last three matches of the league in IPL 2020. Gaikwad scored 204 runs in 6 matches with 3 half-centuries. Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni (MS Dhoni) has also praised Gaikwad, who played in the IPL for Chennai Super Kings.

Krishnappa Gautam can be successful on Sri Lanka’s turning pitches

All-rounder Krishnappa Gowtham is the most expensive player among uncapped Indians in the IPL auction. This all-rounder from Karnataka has 1045 runs in his name in 42 first class matches. Apart from this, he has also taken 166 wickets showing amazing in bowling. In IPL 2021, Gautam has not yet got a chance to show his hand for Chennai Super Kings. Gautam can trouble the opposition bowlers with his bowling on the turning pitches of Sri Lanka.

The first vada will be played on July 13

The Indian team will play three One Day Internationals on 13, 16 and 18 July on the Sri Lanka tour. After this, T20 International matches will be played on 21, 23 and 25 July.

The Indian squad for the Sri Lanka tour is as follows:

Shikhar Dhawan (capt), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Krishnappa Gautam, Krunal Pandya , Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakraborty, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakaria. Net Bowler: Ishaan Porel, Sandeep Warrior, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjit Singh.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here