• Hindi news
  • Sports
  • Novak Djokovic Becomes Australian Open Champion For Record 9th Time Defeats Deniil Medvedev In Finals

Fed up with Ads? Install Dainik Bhaskar app for news without ads

Melbourne8 hours ago

  • Copy link

Novak Djokovic of Serbia won the Australian Open title by defeating World No-4 Russia’s Denil Medvedev. This is his record 9th title. He has also previously won the Australian Open in 2008, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2019 and 2020. Djokovic defeated Medvedev 7-5, 6-2, 6-0 in successive sets in the men’s singles final.

This is Djokovic’s 18th Grand Slam title overall. He has won 5 Wimbledon, 3 US Open and 1 French Open titles in addition to 9 Australian Open. They will also break Roger Federer’s record for the most week (310) number-1. Djokovic has spent 307 weeks at number-1 so far.

Medvedev did not challenge
Medvedev, who has been in excellent form for the last few rounds, could not present any challenge. Earlier, in the semi-finals, he defeated World No. 5 Stephanos Sitsipas of Greece 6-4, 6-2, 7-5. At the same time, Medvedev defeated Andre Rublev of Russia 7,5, 6-3, 6-2 in the quarterfinal.

World No.1 Djokovic has won the tournament 9 times out of 17
Djokovic has played the Australian Open tournament a total of 17 times so far. Of which he has become the champion most times. This was followed by Roger Federer and Roy Emmerson 6-6 times, and Andre Agassi, Jack Crawford and Ken Roswell 4-4 times.

Djokovic won 90% of matches at Australian Open
Djokovic holds a 90% winning record in this Grand Slam. He has played 83 matches in this tournament so far. Out of this, he has won 75 and lost 8 matches. He last lost in consecutive sets to H Chung in 2018.

Djokovic wins third consecutive Australian Open title

  • Djokovic won the Australian Open for the first time in 2008.
  • He retired in 2009 due to heat stress against Andy Roddick.
  • In 2010, they lost in the quarterfinal to Jo Wilfried Tsonga.
  • 2011, 2012, 2013 won the Grand Slam for three consecutive years.
  • In 2014, Wawrinka defeated in the quarterfinals.
  • Djokovic won the tournament again in 2015, 2016.
  • In 2017, Istomin defeated him in the second round.
  • In 2018 H Chung defeated in consecutive sets.
  • Won the title for 3 consecutive years 2019, 2020 and 2021.

Djokovic’s superb record against Federer, Nadal and Murray
Djokovic has not lost a match against Federer, Nadal and Murray for 14 years at the Australian Open. The last time Federer defeated Djokovic in a Round-4 bout was in 2007. Djokovic was 19 then and Federer was the No. 1 player.

  • 4 matches won, 1 lost against Roger Federer.
  • Won 5 matches against Andy Murray.
  • Won 2 matches against Rafael Nadal.

Djokovic will break Federer’s record
World number-1 Djokovic will break Federer’s record for most weeks in the first position next month. Federer was No. 1 overall for 310 weeks in a tennis career. At the same time, Djokovic has been 307 weeks at number-1. On March 8, 2021, they will start 311 weeks at number-1. Also, the ATP rankings have also been frozen. This means that Djokovic’s ratings and rankings will not matter if a player wins or loses.

Only Nadal could stop Djokovic from breaking the record
Nadal had a chance to prevent Djokovic from breaking Federer’s record. Had Nadal won the ATP Cup, the Australian Open and the Rotterdam Open, he could have overtaken Djokovic in the ATP rankings. However, Nadal withdrew from the ATP Cup due to injury. At the same time, he lost in the quarterfinals of the Australian Open to Sitsipas.


Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here