• Indian Premier League 2021 starts today
  • Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore will compete
  • Mumbai Indians team has won IPL title five times
  • Virat’s team has not won IPL tournament yet

Mumbai / New Delhi
After about five months, the biggest attraction of Indian cricket, the Indian Premier League (IPL) has returned once again and that too on its own land. The Mumbai Indians team, which became champions in the thirteenth season of the IPL in November last year on UAE ground, is the highest five-time winner in this league.

The Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) team will present their challenge in the opening battle of IPL-14 today at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, which is again led by the legendary Indian captain Virat Kohli to get his first title in the league. Will be desperate with After the last tournament in the shadow of Kovid-19, once again the same bad situation is happening, when this global epidemic is spreading fast again. In IPL-14, played in a bio-secure environment, spectators are not allowed to come to the stadiums.

Virat vs Rohit
RCB is commanded by the captain of Team India, Virat Kohli, while the vice-captain Rohit Sharma holds the reins of Mumbai Indians, who are the league’s most successful captain by giving this team a record five-time IPL title. Rohit championed the team in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and last year 2020 which tells his success story.

All Time IPL Stats: Virat’s brilliance in batsmen, Malinga dominated in bowling, know every record of IPL

As a batsman, ‘Hitman’ Rohit has been one of the most successful batsmen in the short format of cricket for the last few years. Virat may not have filled the IPL title under his captaincy so far, but his track record as a batsman and captain is unmatched, especially when it comes to the national team. Virat is also the highest run-scorer in IPL history. In such a situation, if these two captains are once again face to face, then no collision will be ordinary. The first collision is expected to be extremely exciting.

Power Hitter Abundance
With strong batting, good ‘power hitter’ and strong fast bowling attack, defending champion Mumbai will again start as a strong contender for the title. Mumbai’s relatively weak side is its spin department, which can cause trouble in the way of its title hattrick. Mumbai has retained its key players in the team for the last several years and this has also been the main reason for its dominance.

Batting is the biggest strength of this team with openers like captain Rohit Sharma and South Africa’s Quinton de Kock. Suryakumar Yadav and Ishaan Kishan are his trump cards. Both of them also made their international debut on behalf of India. Apart from Pandya Brothers, his hitting power in the middle order is excellent with Kieron Pollard of West Indies.

Your vote has been registered.Thank you

On the other hand, he also has India’s best fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah in Boling. Last season, New Zealand’s Trent Boult proved his ability to take wickets in the powerplay. He is also with Australia’s Nathan Coulter Neil, which makes Mumbai’s fast bowling attack look dangerous.

Glen, lots of hope from Kyle
RCB’s team would like to end the long wait to become champions by establishing the necessary balance with the addition of some new players in the current season. Apart from captain Kohli, there is also a legendary batsman like AB de Villiers, but the team was excessively dependent on both of them and in such a situation could never balance.

Now, with the inclusion of players such as Australian all-rounder Glenn Maxwell and New Zealand fast bowler Kyle Jameson, the team looks in a position to make the necessary balance. RCB had started well in the UAE last time, but in the end their rhythm was disturbed and they were out in the Eliminator after losing five consecutive matches. This time the team management has focused on strengthening their batting and bowling by ‘releasing’ 10 players before the auction.

Batting is also strong
The batting of RCB also looks very strong. Run Machine Kohli has a great record in the IPL, who will start the innings. He will be accompanied by Devdutt Padikkal at the other end who performed brilliantly last season and is in excellent form right now. In the top order, young wicket-keeper batsman Mohammad Azharuddin and New Zealand’s Fin Allen are capable of scoring fast runs while experienced players like de Villiers and Maxwell will handle the middle order. Sachin Baby, Daniel Christian and Washington Sundar strengthen their batting. RCB’s strong side is its spin department as well. He has to play most of his matches for Chennai and Ahmedabad spinners on a helpful wicket. In such a situation, Yuzvendra Chahal, who has always been successful in the IPL, will be the trump card for him.

Mumbai vs Bangalore

Total Matches – 27

Mumbai won – 17

Bangalore won – 10

Venue-MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai

The pitch
Chennai’s pitch has been famous for the turn where the spinner is dominating. If the team batting first scores between 160 and 170 then their victory is almost certain.

Performance in ipl

Mumbai Bangalore
Matches – 204 wins – 120 losers – 83 Matches – 168 Won – 80 Loses – 84 Benetija – 0

Expected Playing XI

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Quinton Dickock, Ishaan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Nathan Coulter Neil, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult and Jaspreet Bumra.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Devdutt Padikkal, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Glenn Maxwell, Mohammad Azharuddin, Dan Christian, Kyle Jameson, Washington Sundar, Mohammed Siraj, Navdeep Saini and Yuzvendra Chahal.

Telecast: 7:30 pm on Star Sports Network


Rohit Sharma vs Virat Kohl



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here